Annual Awards

In 1991, the Vidalia® Onion Committee began to annually honor one individual with induction into the Vidalia Onion Hall of Fame. The Committee considers the recipient’s character, reputation and overall contribution to the growth and success of the Vidalia onion.

Hall of Fame Award

Vidalia Onion Hall of Fame Inductees must be a leader in one or more of the following areas:

  • Protecting and promoting the name of the Vidalia onion
  • Protecting and promoting the quality of the Vidalia onion
  • Advertising and promotion of the Vidalia onion
  • Creative sales methods for Vidalia onions
  • Research and growth development of the Vidalia onion
  • Demonstrating dedication to the success of the Vidalia brand an the industry as a whole
Gerald Dasher2012 Buck Shuman2012
Delwin Dowdy2010 L.G. “Bo” Herndon, Jr.2011
Danny New2009 Bob Stafford2009
Doyle Smittle2008 Earlie Jordan2008
Mose Coleman, Sr.2008 Rodney Taylor Stanley, Sr.2007
Bill Brown2006 Raymond Bland2005
Robert Redding2004 Ben Jack McDilda2003
Bobby Harris2002 Dr. Gale Buchanan2001
Reid Torrence2000 W.J. Grimes1999
Fisher Barfoot1998 Janice Grimes1997
Jim Hilderbrandt1996 Jim Bridges1995
Lindsay Thomas1994 Maxwell Smith1993
Charles McRae1992 Tommy Irvin1991
Gerald Achenbach1990

Grower of the Year Award

The Vidalia® Onion Committee also awards an annual "Grower of the Year" award. The Grower of the Year Award is to recognize overall achievement/success as a producer of Vidalia onions. The emphasis of this award is on quality, production, and ability to work within the confines of the Marketing Order.

  • Is a registered Vidalia onion grower
  • Is not an active member of the Vidalia®; Onion Committee
  • Has submitted reports and payments to the Committee in a timely manner
  • Has had no or few consumer complaints to the Committee Office
  • Conforms to the standards set forth in Federal Marketing Order #955
  • Enhances and supports the brand recognition of Vidalia onions
Ray Farms2012
Delbert Bland2010 Alan Sikes2011
Terry Gerrald2009 L. G. “Bo” Herndon, Jr.2008
R. T. Stanley, Jr.2007 Wayne Douberly2006
Larry Powell2005 Gerald & Robert Dasher2004
James McLain2003 Terry Collins2002
J. W. Beasley2001 Eddie Wright2000
Jim Cowart1999 W. J. Grimes1998
Delwin Dowdy1997 R.L. Cato1996
R. E. Hendrix1995 Mike McKinley1994
Raymond Bland1993 Adger Kicklighter1992
Wade Usher1991